Tuesday, August 26, 2014

The Sandman: A Joona Linna Thriller by Lars Kepler

A Joona Linna Thriller
By Lars Kepler
Trade paperback, 496 pages

You see - it's books like these that keep me from having an outdoor life. You know, unless you count reading on the deck in a comfy chair. Okay. I guess I am outdoorsy after all.

The Sandman is the fourth book in the Joona Linna series by Lars Kepler. And by golly they just keep getting better and better. Darker, smarter, more complex... and did I mention dark? Not for the feint of heart these thrillers. But for us hardcore Nordic Noir fans? Amazing.

I was hooked at the first page.

Grab this book. And, if you missed any, grab the past ones too. They don't need to be read in order. Sit back and, if you are outside - don't forget a hat. And a drink. Maybe a couple. It's a big book.

From the Back Flap:

Already a huge success internationally, The Sandman is the explosive, utterly gripping fourth book in the internationally bestselling Joona Linna Thriller series, which has sold more than 3 million copies worldwide. For readers of Stieg Larsson, Henning Mankell, and Jo Nesbo.

     During a cold winter night in Stockholm a man is found walking alongside a railway bridge, suffering from hypothermia and legionella. After he’s rushed to the hospital, it’s discovered that, according to a death certificate, the man has been dead for over seven years. He is believed to be a victim of notorious serial killer Jurek Walter, who was arrested years ago by Detective Inspector Joona Linna and sentenced to a life of total isolation in forensic psychiatric care. As Joona Linna investigates where the “dead man” has been all these years, some unexpected evidence leads to the reopening of a cold case. Danger is imminent, and someone needs to get under the skin of the serial killer–fast–as they are running out of time.


LARS KEPLER is the pseudonym of Alexandra Coelho Ahndoril & Alexander Ahndoril, both critically acclaimed writers under their own names. Alexandra Coelho Ahndoril’s first novel, Stjärneborg (Castle of Stars), has been translated in several languages while Alexander Ahndoril’s novel The Director, about Ingmar Bergman, was shortlisted for the Independent Foreign Fiction Prize. Stalker is the fifth book in their series featuring Detective Inspector Joona Linna.


Tuesday, August 19, 2014

Spooky 2-Book Give-Away! Omens and Visions by Kelley Armstrong



The nights are getting a little chillier here in Ontario. The kids are going back to school soon. It's time for some good spooky reading material for those darker evenings.

A special two book giveaway for Canadians!

 Omens
Following the epic conclusion of her internationally bestselling Women of the Otherworld series, Kelley Armstrong launches a brand-new series set in Cainsville, a small town as spookily fascinating as Stephen King’s Castle Rock or Dean Koontz’s Moonlight Bay.

Visions
In the second book in bestselling author Kelley Armstrong’s exciting new Cainsville series, Olivia’s newly discovered power to read omens leads to the discovery of a gruesome crime with troubling connections to her hometown. 

September is my favourite month of the year, and this contest is open until September first. Send me an email to livinginthekitchenwithpuppies AT hotmail DOT com and tell me one thing you like most about September.

Contest closes midnight EDT Sept first, 2014. Sorry, we can only ship to Canadian addresses. One winner will win both books! 

Read the blurbs below to find out more about Kelley Armstrong's new series.

Omens
The Cainsville Series
By Kelley Armstrong

Trade Paperback, 480 pages

Twenty-four-year-old Olivia Taylor Jones has the perfect life. The only daughter of a wealthy, prominent Chicago family, she has an Ivy League education, pursues volunteerism and philanthropy, and is engaged to a handsome young tech firm CEO with political ambitions.

But Olivia’s world is shattered when she learns that she’s adopted. Her real parents? Todd and Pamela Larsen, notorious serial killers serving a life sentence. When the news brings a maelstrom of unwanted publicity to her adopted family and fiancé, Olivia decides to find out the truth about the Larsens.

Olivia ends up in the small town of Cainsville, Illinois, an old and cloistered community that takes a particular interest in both Olivia and her efforts to uncover her birth parents’ past.


Visions
The Cainsville Series
By Kelley Armstrong

Hardcover, 496 pages

Omens, the first installment in Kelley Armstrong’s exciting new series, introduced Olivia Taylor-Jones, daughter of notorious serial killers, and Gabriel Walsh, the self-serving, morally ambiguous lawyer who became her unlikely ally. Together, they chased down a devious killer and partially cleared her parents of their horrifying crimes.

Their success, however, is short-lived. While Olivia takes refuge in the old, secluded town of Cainsville, Gabriel’s past mistakes have come to light, creating a rift between the pair just when she needs his help the most.

Olivia finds a dead woman in her car, dressed to look like her, but the body vanishes before anyone else sees it. Olivia’s convinced it’s another omen, a sign of impending danger. But then she learns that a troubled young woman went missing just days ago—the same woman Olivia found dead in her car. Someone has gone to great lengths to kill and leave this young woman as a warning. But why? And what role has her new home played in this disturbing murder?

Olivia’s effort to uncover the truth places her in the crosshairs of old and powerful forces, forces that have their own agenda, and closely guarded secrets they don’t want revealed.

Kelley Armstrong is the author of eleven novels and two short-story collections in the Otherworld series. She lives in Ontario with her family.

Thursday, August 14, 2014

The Extraordinary Journey of the Fakir Who Got Trapped in an IKEA Wardrobe


A novel
By Romain Puertolas
Trade Paperback, 320 pages

Some lighter fare for the summer - The Extraordinary Journey of the Fakir Who Got Trapped in an IKEA Wardrobe is a quirky yet sentimental journey in farcical form. Ajatashatru Oghash Rathod begins a pilgrimage as a fake fakir and through his bizarre and impossible journey he finds himself.

We are along for the ride as he is whisked all over Europe, avoiding murderous Gypsies, meeting famous people, poor people and pirates, all who teach him a little more about who he is and who he wants to be.

Silly, fun, touching. A great read.


From  the back flap:

For readers of The 100-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out the Window and Disappeared, a funny, charming, feel-good story about a fake fakir from India who arrives in France to shop at IKEA and unwittingly embarks on a European tour like no other.

     Meet Ajatashatru Oghash Rathod. One day a fakir leaves his small village in India and lands in Paris. A professional con artist, the fakir is on a pilgrimage to IKEA, where he intends to obtain an object he covets above all others: a brand-new bed of nails. Without adequate euros in the pockets of his silk trousers, the fakir is all the same confident that his counterfeit 100-Euro note (printed on one side only) and his usual bag of tricks will suffice. But when a swindled cab driver seeks his murderous revenge, the fakir accidentally embarks on a European tour, fatefully beginning in the wardrobe of the iconic Swedish retailer.
     As his journey progresses in the most unpredictable of ways, the fakir finds unlikely friends in even unlikelier places. To his surprise–and to a Bollywood beat–the stirrings of love well up in the heart of our turbaned hero, even as his adventures lead to profound and moving questions of the perils of emigration and the universal desire to seek a better life in an often dangerous world.
     The Extraordinary Journey of the Fakir Who Got Trapped in an IKEA Wardrobe [pause for breath] is a hilarious tale that evokes the manic energy of a Marx Brothers romp and calls to mind the incisive social commentary of Candide. Pull up your Poang chair and take an unforgettable tour of Europe propelled by laughter, love and redemption. (Meatballs not included, but highly recommended.)


ROMAIN PUÉRTOLAS was born in Montpellier and has lived in France, Spain and the UK, where he has been a DJ, singer-songwriter, language teacher, translator-interpreter and steward. He currently works as a police inspector with the French border service, specializing in document fraud. The Extraordinary Journey of the Fakir… was a #1 bestseller in France and has been sold to 35 countries.


Tuesday, August 5, 2014

No Safe House: A Thriller by Linwood Barclay

No Safe House
A Thriller
By Linwood Barclay

Trade paperback, 464 pages

Not only am I on the edge of my seat when I read Linwood Barclay's thrillers, (which just happen to get better and more complex as they go on), but I am constantly amazed at all the threads he has going on and how he manages to tie every little one together and still baffle you in the end.

The mind reels.

I read this 464 page novel in two days because I could not put it down. Okay, I might have stayed in my jammies for a whole day - but it was worth it!

Linwood Barclay can craft a puzzle like no other. Read this book. Read the rest of his books. Tell your friends.


From the Back Flap:

#1 international bestselling author Linwood Barclay delivers a sequel to No Time for Goodbye–an electrifying novel of suspense in which a family’s troubled past is about to return in more ways than one. And this time, they may not be able to escape…

     Seven years ago, Terry Archer and his family experienced a horrific ordeal that nearly cost them their lives. Today, the echoes of that night are still haunting them. Terry’s wife, Cynthia, is living separate from her husband and daughter after her own personal demons threatened to permanently ruin her relationship with them. Their daughter, Grace, is rebelling against her parents’ needless overprotection. Terry is just trying to keep his family together. And the entire town is reeling from the senseless murder of a local retired couple.
    But when Grace follows her delinquent boyfriend into a strange house, the Archers must do more than stay together. They must stay alive. Because now they have all been unwillingly drawn into the shadowy depths of their idyllic hometown. There, they will be reconnected with the man who saved their lives seven years ago, but who remains a ruthless, unrepentant criminal. The Archers will learn that there are some things people value much more than money, and some people who will do anything to get it.
    Caught in a labyrinth between family loyalty and ultimate betrayal, Terry must find a way to extricate his family from a lethal situation. All he knows is that survival might mean doing the unthinkable…



About the Author

Linwood Barclay, a former columnist for the Toronto Star, is the internationally bestselling author of seven critically acclaimed novels, including Fear the Worst, Too Close to Home, and No Time for Goodbye, which has been optioned for film. He lives near Toronto with his wife and has two grown children.